Skip Navigation
search icon Open Search Field

The Dereck Whittenburg Foundation clears financial hurdles for Shaw Students to finish college

The Dereck Whittenburg Foundation has announced it will award its coveted scholarship to seven Shaw University students. The Dereck Whittenburg Foundation Scholarship provides assistance to deserving college students whose financial need hinder them from pursuing and completing their college degrees.

"This year, The DW Foundation is pleased to invest in the futures of these stellar students who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in their pursuit of a college education," said Jacqueline Whittenburg, the Foundation’s executive director and Co-Founder.  “Shaw has historically been a top producer of high performing future leaders who go out into the world and make a difference. That is why the DW Foundation decided to increase its awards from four to seven students this year,” said Whittenburg.

Last year, the DW Foundation awarded four scholarships to Shaw students. This year the Foundation has awarded seven, totaling $35,000. The seventh scholarship is being named in honor of beloved Shaw University Honors College Director, the late Dr. Kim Leathers. 

Dr. Kim Leathers, Director of the Shaw Honors College, Assistant Professor of Sociology and a beloved member of the Shaw family passed away on August 28, 2016. Her sudden and untimely death was a devastating blow to her immediate and extended family, friends, church members, colleagues, and the students whose lives she indelibly touched.

"Shaw is thrilled that the DW Foundation is recognizing the hard work and achievements of our students by awarding these scholarships," said Shaw University president, Dr. Tashni-Ann Dubroy. "We consider it an honor that the Foundation is remembering the dedication of Dr. Kim Leathers, by naming a scholarship after her," said Dr. Dubroy.  

The 2016 award recipients from Shaw are Alforn Leroy McKenzie, Cristal Atkinson, Jarrett Pealer, Diamond Bonaparte, Sonjia Colson, Shayanna Hicks,  and Joy Kingsberry. The Shaw recipients had to undergo a rigorous and highly competitive application and selection process which highlighted their academic performance as well as their leadership, service, and extracurricular activities.

The Dereck Whittenburg Foundation is the vision of former N.C. State University basketball standout Dereck Whittenburg, who helped lead the Wolfpack team to the NCAA National Championship in 1983. Today he continues to serve his alma mater as a member of the NC State athletics leadership team.

Whittenburg established the Dereck Whittenburg Foundation for the purpose of extending financial assistance to students who have a financial need, and who, without it, could not afford to pay the cost of tuition, and would risk not graduating from college. The DW Foundation’s mantra is “Dream. Believe. Work. Now Finish!"